cutting models

Where do you cut?

• Total voters

Wojtee

Jun 8, 2008
Prague, CZ
Center of the line, of course. Not that it matters, most of the time ;) We are talking about some 1/10 mm here, are we? Do you count the thickness of the glue layer?

greymalkin

Mar 3, 2009
Fargo, North Dakota USA
Line Cutting

It may not matter where you cut on the line when you are making planes, ships, buildings, (I do not make them, so I do not know that for sure.) but it makes a big difference if you are making models of people or anime characters, especially if their faces are white or pink colored. When you cut in the center of the line, there is still a very narrow black link that will show up on light or white colored surfaces of the model. Thin, black lines do not look good on a face, arms, or legs. Perhaps the most important thing is that you are consistent in your cutting style. Cut on the line all the time, inside the line all the time, or outside the line all the time. I am still a newbie, so please correct me if I am mistaken. Thanks.

El_portus

Jun 25, 2011
I feel "safer" by cuting in the center of the line, since you are always following a straight line and no white (blank) remains will be left in the usable cut-out.

Z

Zathros

Whatever you do, it is important to always maintain the same reference. Otherwise, you can end up with an accrued intolerance which can come around to "bite" you. I also have found it is better to do the bow and stern of a ship first as it is oft times easier to make up any problems in the center of the hull.

howtogurus

Feb 20, 2010
US
Depends on if you want the line to show or not. I tend to cut just inside the line so it does not show on the model.

S

Soaring