The Mirror Fleet Begins!

bgt01

Exemplary Confidant
Jan 26, 2012
Ohio
Well, what do you do when you start building a bunch of Starfleet ships? Start building Mirror Universe ships, of course! With all the Connies complete and more Starfleet ships being built, I've decided it's time to add some of my favorite villains. Again, these are my repaints of Rawen's original, fantastic files. I am building my versions of an Empire Heavy Cruiser (I.S.S. Predator), Dreadnought (I.S.S. Worldbreaker), Destroyer (I.S.S. Godhammer) and Tug (I.S.S. Scow).

I am building all four ships at once so my post will skip around a little, but my goal is to show a detailed buildup of these Rawen ships for reference. My technique is by no means perfect, but it's worked well for me and may work even better for someone with more steady hands. Sorry if the post gets a little long, but I'm a writer and used to presenting all the data. I'll try to keep it under control.

FYI, sometimes I forget to take a pic, so if you see a part change around ignore it since I'm just trying to show my technique.

bgt01

Exemplary Confidant
Jan 26, 2012
Ohio
Tools

My tools are standard stuff. X-Acto knifes and Excel knifes with a variety of blades. Number 11 blades are used the most. Standard scissors and Paper Studio non-stick precision tip scissors. These small scissors are great for clean, precise cuts and have great control. I cut all my circles and almost everything else with these and highly recommend them.They are about $7 at Hobby Lobby. Standard metal ruler. Elmer's Paper Craft Gel Glue and Loctite Super Glue - both brushable and gel control. Lots of toothpicks and dowel rods for shaping. Sewing seam ripper for scoring. Markers. Large and small tweezers.

Attachments

• 01.jpg
    01.jpg
    187.6 KB · Views: 6

bgt01

Exemplary Confidant
Jan 26, 2012
Ohio
Saucer