Playing with Camera again...pics of engines...

roryglasgow

Jun 3, 2001
Huntsville, TX USA
web.wt.net
I was playing with the camera again, so I thought I'd share.

This is a pic of the new Bachmann USRA 0-6-0 Switcher I got in an Iron Duke train set (half-price sale at Hobby Lobby). This is my first attempt at weathering a locomotive. I don't have an airbrush or chalks, so I attempted to use watered-down acrylic paints. It turned out OK, I guess.

Attachments

• 060.jpg
    060.jpg
    30.9 KB · Views: 230

roryglasgow

Jun 3, 2001
Huntsville, TX USA
web.wt.net
And, just for laughs, here is the "studio" where I shot the pictures. The backdrop is the back side of an Eckerd's Savings Express train set box. The track is a little shelf diorama I made a long time ago. It's sitting on top of my son's box of crayons.

Attachments

• studio.jpg
    studio.jpg
    50.1 KB · Views: 216

shaygetz

May 2, 2003
www.freewebs.com
Originally posted by roryglasgow
This is probably my most reliable locomotive:

Art imitates life...I love my HO steamers but, like the real ones, they are a maintenance headache and slowly giving way to more (much more, sadly) reliable diesel models. My HOn30 "Galloping Goose" model, built on an Atlas N scale chassis, ran flawlessly for over 16 continuous hours at a show recently, without a hitch. As in real life, my steam is run for shows and showing off, my diesels do the ops. (Sigh) Love the "backdrop":thumb:

roryglasgow

Jun 3, 2001
Huntsville, TX USA
web.wt.net
Thanks for the compliments.

Racharg, I wouldn't rate the Bachmann 0-6-0 as a top performer, but it does alright for the price. Check out my previous post on improving the performance:

http://www.the-gauge.com/forums/showthread.php?s=&threadid=8057