Opinions in switches

revandy

Nov 2, 2004
Cumberland RI
I am in the process of rebuilding my layout, This AM, I was reading on the Guage about a switch problem one of our members is having and the thought occurred to me and my comment was, if a problem is going to occur, the biggest percentage of the time, the switch is the culprit. So, the question is, what do you consider to be the best switch on the market? any pro and cons to consider. etc.

Rev. Andy

mhdishere

Feb 27, 2003
New Jersey
Visit site
I'm going to give a synopsis of what I've read here and elsewhere about turnouts, I don't have a layout right now and when I do I'm going to try hand-laying, so I have no firsthand experience. I'm also not going to get into brands, only the potential problem areas. I'm also going to stick with reliability issues causing derailments or other operational problems, not detail level or long-term durability.

There are three main problem areas in turnouts, mechanical, electrical, and installation.

Mechanical: The turnout is out of gauge, or becomes out of gauge during use. The best way to head off these problems is to go over the turnout before installation with an NMRA standards gauge, if you buy a turnout that's out of gauge bring it back for a new one. If the turnout becomes out of gauge after installation you'll either have to get the rails back in gauge or replace the turnout. You can also run a truck thru the turnout, listen for places where the wheels are hitting the frog or points, if there's a problem file carefully until the wheels run thru smoothly.