New to the Board

GWRFANN

Nov 7, 2005
East Coast Canada
Hi folks

I'm new here & I'm relatively new to model railroading so I might be asking quite a few questions, that is if you don't mind. I'm mostly into N-scale but I do have a little bit of HO in the house.

I do have a question now & it is regarding couplers for n-scale rolling stock. I want to get rid of the ugly Rapido style & replace them with the knuckle type but I'm not sure what to do. Some folks up here have said to replace the whole truck with the Micro Trains truck & coupler & others have said to just replace the couplers but have not given me any part #'s.

What would you suggest & what would be the cheaper way to do this?

p.s. I have already changed everything to steel wheels

grumbeast

Jan 13, 2003
Dartmouth, N.S. Canada
www.accesswave.ca
Hi!

A few things.. first the interrogation :) .. Where in Eastern Canada, I'm in Dartmouth NS.
second. GWR! good man!, I grew up in South Wales, so the GWR is (was) of course the only real railway in the world *grin*

I have the same situation as you. I have a bunch of stock that has rapido couplers but I'm converting to microtrains. In terms of converting stock, I find replacing the trucks is more expensive but easier. I'm doing it a bit at a time and I've made several "conversion" cars that have a microtrains at one end and a rapido at the other. This means that you can run your together to a degree.

Are you modelling a North American prototype? If you're running GWR stuff, you'll need to do coupler conversions which I don't really know about.

Anyhow, hope this helps

Graham

GWRFANN

Nov 7, 2005
East Coast Canada
Hi Graham

Well well, another Ex patriot Maritimer:thumb: I'm in Saint John, N.B. & I was born in Gosport, U.K.

I'm starting to model Canadian National N scale but I have alot of British HO, sorry, OO:D in God's Wonderful Railway livery.