new here and to model trains

Wyndigo

Jan 25, 2004
Dover, Florida, USA.
Hi everyone, I am new to the model railroad hobby, went to my first train show this past saturday and bought an Athearn HO set, now I have added 4 more 9" sections of track and would like to add a switch onto the setup. Now my question is this, exactly how do they work? (no laughing sign1 ) I'm thinking of a basic layout, small town on one side and a
business of some sort on the other. therefore the need for a switch.

Wyndigo

MilesWestern

Sep 20, 2005
CA
protopaintwest.googlepages.com
:wave: Welcome to the Gauge! :wave:

Hope to see more questions from you Wyndigo, because for the most part, we have the answers!

Ok, here's a diagram. The red and blue lines are opposite rails, ok? now the switch has movable points (two of them, they move in unison with a small strip of metal holding them together called a switch rod) ? Now those movable points come into position, determining which way the train travels, and with the flick of a switch, you can send the train down a different set of rails to it's destonation. Got it?

Attachments

• Switchdiagram.JPG
    Switchdiagram.JPG
    14.2 KB · Views: 189

Wyndigo

Jan 25, 2004
Dover, Florida, USA.
Shaygetz: thanks for the welcome and I'm near Tampa for now, planning to move north to michigan before next winter (yeah I know, kinda crazy lol)

MilesWestern: thanks for the welcome and yep, I kinda understand what it does, but how hard is it to hook up, I'm using eztrack with the athearn engine and cars

Wyndigo

tonyevans

Dec 17, 2005
webmaster said:
Wyndigo it's easy. It just goes together like any other section, you just push fit it on to the next piece of track.
MMMMMM it's easy is it .lol.

Wyndigo

Jan 25, 2004
Dover, Florida, USA.
Hi Jim and thanks for the welcome :)