marx 666 engine won't go forward

bmann

Nov 25, 2005
This train has sat for at least 20 years my parents bought it for my brothers and i decided to try and get it up and running. I cleaned and lubed everything i read to do on a marx website it also said maybe after running for awhile the e unit would come unstuck or try tapping it. But it still runs backwards. Any advice would be greatly appreciated thanks

Marxed

Jan 29, 2005
humm, i actually have the same engine, but never had that problem... my suggestion would be to roll the wheels back and forth some and check the gearing out... then pop the top off and check out the insides... theres a foward reversing unit on it... i'm not an expert at that device, since i have yet to encounter a broken marx (since they last forever!), but if you open it up and take it apart, you should beable to see if something seems broken... there arnt any fancy circuit boards or anything in there soo it shouldnt be to hard to look at, just take your time when taking it apart soo you know how to put it back together

do you have any other marx engines that you could compare to?

when i get a chance i'll take my 666 apart and see if i can give you any pointers... out of all my marx sets i own, that is the only one i never opened up, it's a very strong and well built machine

bmann

Nov 25, 2005
everything looks good maybe i need to take it apart further and try to clean it better would you know if the wheels just pop off. I tried to pry just a little under the wheel and gave up thought i might break it but the nuts to the sides are under those wheels thanks

Marxed

Jan 29, 2005