Looking to buy a digital camera

CAS

Apr 10, 2005
Chicago, Illinois
I am starting to look into buy a digital camera. I have very little knowledge of them. i have been doing some research on them. I did a search here for digital camera's.
But i still have a few questions.

My main purpose for the camera is:
To take indoor shots of my layout, during construction phases, to completion.
Take pictures outside of my weathered rolling stock.( better lighting, i guess).
Main purpose will be on my layout. So i really don't want to spend a arm and a leg for it.

Here are some of my questions.
What is the most important thing to look for?
Will it be, how many mb's it has?
How many megapixel?
How many Optical/Digital zoom?
Or will a basic digital camera work for my purpose ?

Thanks for all your help,
CAS

YmeBP

Dec 3, 2006
Southern New Jersey
www.skyersfamily.com
I own the 10mp version of this camera. I can tell you that it takes some phenominal pictures!!
http://www.usa.canon.com/consumer/controller?act=ModelDetailAct&fcategoryid=145&modelid=13019

The 6mp version (the one in the link) is essentially the same camera, just a slightly lower resolution, as the one that took these pictures:

Low resolution version:
IMG_0012.jpg

Hi resolution version here: http://www.skyersfamily.com/gallery/v/Trains/Layout1/IMG_0012.jpg.html?g2_imageViewsIndex=1

IMG_0096.JPG

As far as some of the quesitons you've asked:

1) MP is not always the best selector of camera photo quality but 6mp minimum is a great place to start in my opinion becuase you can take pictures at a high resolution adn get great detail and then reduce the size if you don't want the detail.

2)You can purchase your own memory card w/ up to 4gb (2gb cost me 35$ and i can store 700 photos in medium mode)

3) don't use digital zoom, 3x optical zoom is a great medium spot, more is better but don't pay extra for more. The greater your optical zoom the steadier you have to hold your camera!!! :)