First Ballasting Photos

Play-Doh

May 12, 2006
Portland OR
Well, here is an update on progress on my layout. Ive begun ballasting...its tedious but so far the results have been excellent. (this is my first attempt) Any comments or criticism is totally welcome. (Sorry for the fuzzy pics again, im getting a digital soon)

ballast2.jpg

ballas1.jpg

EDIT: Here is a WAY better pic, and yes, Im gonna get that little bit of ballst of the ties.

ballast3.jpg

TJ

Art67

Apr 18, 2005
Baltimore
Play-Doh, Looks good for a first attempt, however, You will be much happier with the end result if you paint your track before ballasting. Now is the time to do it before you progress too far with the ballast. This includes painting the ties and the track itself. You should consult pictures of the area you are trying to model, but a good mix is painting the ties grayish brown, and then highlighting them by dry brushing with a slightly lighter color such as pure gray etc. Then paint your rails a rusty brownish color, let dry and then clean the tops of the rails with a bright boy. It goes pretty fast and you will be amazed at how much better your track will look. Painting the rails will also make the rail itself appear smaller which will greatly improve realism. Remember-ties are not black, and rails are not shiny {except the tops on well used rail}. Doing this before ballasting is MUCH easier. Your track looks good, just thought I would offer these suggestions. Have fun, and feel free to ask if you have any questions. Good luck.

Stuart

Play-Doh

May 12, 2006
Portland OR
Art67 said: