Drywall Subroadbed

ATSF-Loco

Nov 14, 2005
I have been modeling for about 4 years now and have made a few layouts, all open grid construct. And I have used plywood with 2" "blue" foam. I am starting a new HO layout and I am going to try 1/2in Drywall as my subroadbed on an open grid, with no foam. Anyone ever done this, or does anyone see any downfalls?

P.S. I'm going to use Wood. Scenics risers and inclines for topology changes

Dave
New to the Forum

MasonJar

It's not rocket surgery
Oct 31, 2002
Ottawa, Canada
Visit site
Hi Dave,

Welcome to The Gauge!

I see two problems with your proposal. Unsupported drywall is not very strong, so spanning open grid benchwork may be problematic. The other problem is using waterbased scenery and/or ballasting methods may warp and weaken the drywall. A plywood "sub-subroadbed" might address the strength issue, but you'd still have to deal with the water.

Interesting proposal though - always good to think outside the box, so to speak.

Andrew

Drew1125

Jan 28, 2001
Hi Dave!
Welcome aboard! :wave:

I'm gonna have to go along with Andrew on this one...
Drywall & water just don't mix, & also, drywall is even heavier than plywood, but with no supporting strength...

ATSF-Loco

Nov 14, 2005
Well, I did think about all that...sorta....The benchwork is okay it's well supported with 1x4's on edge every 16in like a wall. But, what I didn't think about was the water, hmmm. Okay, more thinking outside the box......I was planning on spackling it like a wall and painting it (like a wall). But.....maybe this isn't such a great idea after all......good ole' tired and true plywood.

MasonJar

It's not rocket surgery
Oct 31, 2002
Ottawa, Canada
Visit site