DCC vs Crest

Penlu

May 31, 2003
Colorado Springs, CO
Visit site
OK, I'm a newbie. I've been looking at the Crest system vs the DCC. So far, my locomotives are all in the Toy Train category. I have my track laid and wired (very poorly, it seems, since derail is my normal mode).

I had trains 30 years ago, but I've forgotten more than I knew, and what little is left has changed.

HELP!!!!

:( :confused:

Matt Probst

Mar 15, 2002
Hershey,Pa.
Visit site
Hi Penlu! Welcome to the big blue board! I'm probably the wrong guy to respond to this as I haven't gotten beyond the old Atlas systems of DC block controls myself, but there sure are a lot of people here that have the expertise to help you fix 'bout anything!
If you can post specifics of the problems you're having along with a pic or two of your trackplan and how you have it wired, you're sure to get enough responses to help you out!
Good Luck!!:)

Matt--Hershey, Pa.

shaygetz

May 2, 2003
www.freewebs.com
I'm not familiar with "Crest control". After 30 years of modeling, I never thought I'd go for DCC...then I joined a club that has it. In my mind there is just no comparing, especially if you're just starting out and have the coin to make that first step---and plan a layout large enough to justify it. The biggest drawback is the initial expense. I'm doing it 1 loco at a time (around $20 per decoder), building up capital for the big dive into a throttle (around $170 for the Digitrax model I'm looking at). Because my layout is small, I'm keeping it block control...only one loco at a time can run on it anyway. DCC involves electrically isolating the motor form the track so that the decoder runs the motor, not the track current. That means all your locos would require modification, some easy, some not worth the effort. The market is now filled with locomotives that are "plug-and play" or DCC ready. I'm sure I missed some stuff but you're now part of a group of folks that can fill in the blanks, Welcome aboard...