Brass Wire for Handrails?

SeriousSam

Nov 2, 2005
San Antonio
Howdy. I was looking at some brass wire at this website, but I couldnt figure out which one would be used for handrails or other small hoses in a locomotive. Which size is the smallest and which is the thickest? Thanks

RailRon

Nov 23, 2002
Trimbach, Switzerland
Sam, when you are modeling in N scale (seems logical since this thread is in the N/Z scale section) you can multiply the wire thickness with 160. This gives you the diameter of a rod/hose/grabiron/pipe/whatever... in the real world.

So when you use 0.005" wire (for metric modelers: 0.13 millimeters) for grabirons on your model, this thin wire represents already a rod thickness of 0.8" (or roughly 20 mm). This isn't too far off from the original, so you can use this wire.

Likewise you could use 0.01" (0.25 mm) wire for modelling 1-1/2" tubes and so on.

Ron

Hay guys, I have no experience with N-scale grab irons, but five-thousandths wire
seems awfully small to handle, form, and install, and to withstand handling later on.
Just one of those opinions, ya know! Has anyone here actually done this? It might be
one of those areas where your "Modeller's Licence" comes in handy!:D :D

Shooter

Aug 11, 2006
home.att.net
As far as wire width, I haven't seen .005" wire readily available, the smallest I've seen is .006". Take a look at the picture below for an example:

handrail3.jpg

The handrails are .008" wire (I found .006 to seem just a little too thin). The drop grab irons on the front and side of nose are BLMA, which are pre-bent .007" wire. And, the grab irons on the top of the nose are hand bent out of .006" wire (to match the thinner appearance of the prototype).

I bent my own drop grab irons out of .006" wire until BLMA made their grabs out of .007" wire (they used to use .009", which looked way to "chunky" for my eyes, especially when compared to other thinner details that were added).