Beginner to Model Railways

Dingo69

Jan 3, 2006
Hi All,

Well I'm new at the model railway, did a lot of models when I was in my teens but not since then and I am not looking for a hobby which I can build things myself.

As I have been interested in trains in general I thought I would like to give it a go, start slow and if I enjoy it continue. Therefore from experience with computers the best places to start are the forums and get advice from people with experience not just from the shops.

I live in Europe so was actually looking for a UK forum but yours popped up a few times so I thought I would start here. I have current a space of about 2m * 1.5m which can grow along the next wall should I enjoy things.

As my other hobby is computers no doubt if I stick to this I would like to join the 2 which I have read a bit about and therefore think I need a Digital Set.

So Questions:

1.) In Europe I am looking at one of the 3 scales N, TT, HO, I have seen HOnm but not sure what that is. N seems to small for me I like to see details, HO is the most popular but seems to take a lot of space so I was thinking of the TT version, which has not a create range but have read a few times that it is growing.

What do you all think, with the space I currently have?

2.) If I want to go digital can I buy a normal set now and upgrade it to a digital controller later or must you have special tracks as well.

3.) Any beginners points I should know, going to buy a couple of books to read and there are a few classes in the near which I will attend regarding landscaping and repairs.

Thanks for any help.

A hearty welcome to you, dingo!

1. I would recommend N scale for a space as small as 2 by 1.5m. N scale is not as small as you might think - there is a great amount of detail possible in N. Also, manufacturers now make N scale products that are every bit as high-quality as anything in larger scales.