After 15yrs,whats new?

jambo101

Feb 14, 2007
Montreal
I;ve been out of the hobby for close to 20yrs and just now thinking of resurrecting the hobby.From some of the threads i'm reading there have been some changes in the wiring and power dept.Would appreciate a recap on some of the new improvements in the hobby and how it will affect my old Atlas;athearn and Bachman engines.And will my 20yr old controllers still function with these new improvements.

It was Grewsomes post in track planning that got me wondering.

Grewsome wrote
" I was a modeler back in the dc days. It was a pain to wire, but if your a gadget freak like me, pushing all those buttons and flipping switches was a lot of fun."

doctorwayne

Sep 6, 2005
Canada, eh?
The DC side of operation is still alive and kicking, just as it was 15 or 20 years ago. The major innovation in operation is DCC, where a constant voltage is applied to the tracks, and each loco is fitted with an onboard decoder. An operator uses a handheld throttle to send a signal, via the rails, usually, to that particular loco, which determines when the loco moves, its speed, and direction, and in many cases, which lights operate, and what sounds emanate from an onboard speaker. Decoders can also be used for stationary objects, such as turnout motors or trackside signals. Wiring is generally much simplified over straight DC, and many trains can be controlled, independently, even on the same track, by several operators. You can learn more in the DCC Forum.
Personally, DCC holds no attraction for me, as I usually operate solo, and I want only one train running at a time. :D Other than this, lots of great new products in almost all scales, although a lot of is ready-to-run. As far as choice and selection goes, this is probably the golden age of model railroading, right now!

Wayne

myltlpny

Feb 18, 2007
Gloucester, VA
www.homesiteinc.com