Z newbie needs general advice...

Zman

Hello everyone. I'm very interested in modeling Z scale. I am a complete beginner, although I have a degree of modeling experience when it comes to planes and ships. I would appreciate any advice you gurus might have for me. I've done a considerable amount of research on the internet so far, and will continue to do so until I feel educated enough to start buying.

I live in a small apartment, and only have enough room to store three 2' by 4' layouts, hence my interest in Z scale. Here are some of my specific questions:

1. Are the Markel starter sets any good? I particularly like the Bavarian Ludvig I set that Reynaulds has for sale right now. I know that many manufacturers don't necessarily include their top-of-the-line stuff in starter sets. Is this true of Markel?

2. Is there a good software for Z scale track planning?

3. What's a good resource for learning landscaping techniques in Z scale? I know it's practically like micro surgery, but that's part of what I find appealing about it.

Thank you in advance for any advice you may have for me.

John.

sumpter250

multiscale modelbuilder
3. What's a good resource for learning landscaping techniques in Z scale?

Landscaping techniques are basicly the same for all scales, only the size of the materials changes. :D (oh, and the volume)
There's lots of info here at the guage, Woodland Scenics has a book, and a video, featuring their products, and there are lots of articles in the model railroad magazines that could help.
Pay very close attention to track laying in Z..... .01" in O scale isn't a difference,
in HO, it's about an inch, in Z, it's hitting a curb!

Maybe there's someone here who can answer the software question?, and the "product" question.
Pete

lsk040365