Your opinions of rolling stock brands

I've been buying most of my N scale rolling stock via eBay simply due to cost. As a beginner, I needed to get trains up and running quickly. Much like a protottype railroad just starting out, I bought a lot of used and obsolete stuff. ;)
Anyway, I have a selection of Atlas, Minitrix, and other oddball stuff (no Bachmann or Micro-Trains). Some of them have 'issues', mostly to do with trucks or wheels. My question is, are there any brands I should stay away from in regards to replacement parts (trucks, etc) or that won't easily take MT style couplers? The bulk of the cars parked on my service siding seem to be Atlas, FWIW.

shaygetz

May 2, 2003
www.freewebs.com
While an HOer myself, I enjoy buying used equipment---even taking advantage of the freebies from drop-offs at the clubhouse. Because most of the members are interested only in the latest Genesis, Spectrum or Proto 2000 release, I get showered with all kinds of interesting possibilties to rebuild, rewheel (Kadee or Jay-Bee) and recoupler (Kadee or Accurail if necessary, sometime the only one that will work in older stuff). The money I save pays for all the modifications and the final work stands up to the high dollar items. Realistically, I probably enjoy a 5 to 1 (5 cars to 1 car on money spent) ratio over the others in my circle of modeling friends thereby spreading my hobby dollar into areas I couldn't normally afford (DCC decoders, throttles, and the occasional G, S or P2K release). As a former N scaler, I know that Kadee offers many drop-in replacement parts that will help you along with what I have found to be an enjoyable facet to the hobby. Nothing quite like getting a compliment on a train put together from junk box surprizes and toy box rescues.

I buy mainly Micro-Trains N scale simply because I like their couplers.