young writers

Discussion in 'General Card Modeling' started by lizzienewell, May 6, 2007.

1. lizzienewell

lizzienewell Member

I'm a science-fiction writer. In Palmer, AK, the elementary school holds a young writers conference. On Wednesday, I got a call that a presenter wasn't going to show and would I be interested in talking to 3 groups of 20 kids about writing? I said "sure" and then I started sweating.

The other writers all had books to sign and sell, but I'm not published yet. I brought a table load of cardmodels. While the other authors were signing books I talked to kids about models. They were a magnet for little boys and not so little boys. I some good talks with a not so little boys who do radio controlled models. I also got to discuss ground effect craft, cardmodeling, and geometry with kids (and not so little boys.)

For the presentation part I read a story that I'd written and illustrated and then led some group story telling activities. I'm quite pleased with this mornings events. I love how models get kids interested in math, science, and creativity. Cardmodeling is such mathmatical activity.
  2. Kaz

Kaz Member

Go lizzienewell !
    Its amazing how models, especially card ones capture the imagination, and all the subjects associated directly and indirectly with them, in everyone who sees them.
    Keep on spreading the word.
    Lets hope that you are asked to do something like this again, only next time you will have a book to sign for them.
  3. ekuth

ekuth Active Member

You GO!

I love doing model rocketry for the same reason. :-D
  4. Amazyah

Amazyah Senior Member

Way to go Lizzie!
    I love to hear stories like this!
    It sure is wonderful to ignite that spark of interest in a young ones mind!
    You can see it in their eyes, the excitement created by learning and understanding new concepts!
    I am sure you effected all their lives in a positive way!
    Hopefully, you just created some future card modelers as well!