WW2 Cardmodeling

Discussion in 'General Card Modeling' started by Wily, Jul 24, 2008.

1. Wily

Wily Member

Found this odd photo and thought there may be people here who haven't seen it before.

Nice kit.

Attached Files:

2. nebeltex

nebeltex Member

i like it! where did you find this gem?
  3. Stev0

Stev0 Active Member

I have seen similar pictures elsewhere. I took one and reposted with a conversation included.

Attached Files:

4. cdavenport

cdavenport Member

I am not an armor expert but the turret of that German tank looks like it belongs to a Panzerkampfwagen III and the model looks very much like a Russian KV-1. In the background, what first appears to be a geological feature seems to be, on close inspection, more like a thatched hut which would date this photo to around late summer 1941 somewhere on the Eastern front. I say late summer because earlier that summer, the Germans were quite "busy." By the summer of 1942 the Germans certainly did not have any time to be relaxing on the Eastern front!

You know, early in our involvement in the war, America had a nationwide program whereby young boys would be given wooden kits from which they would build recognition models of Allied and Axis aircraft for the US Army and Air Corps. I met one of those children when he was an old man. He still scratchbuilt models from wood. If you are ever passing through the terminal at Atlanta International Airport you can see a few of his incredible models on display. Perhaps these Germans are doing pretty much the same thing, namely, building recognition models of the most important thing to German ground forces...Russian tanks!

How awesome would it be to get one's hands on one of those kits unbuilt?

Just a guess, but I enjoy making history come alive.
  5. cdavenport

cdavenport Member