Working with PDO

Discussion in 'Tips, Tutorials & Tools' started by Dennis D, Nov 8, 2005.

1. Dennis D

Dennis D Member

Noob here. Been lurking on your forum and have found tons of great tips, links, & info! :grin:

Came across a link to a chubby little "Baby C-130" on a Japanese site. Downloaded it and the PDO software and I even figured out how to print it. Sorry that I don't have either link with me now. I'm a C-130 Crew Chief in the USAF and I can't wait to build it. :smile:

Now here's my question. Can I "repaint" the model using the PDO software? Or do I have to use something like Photoshop or GIMP? :?: I'd like to re-do it in USAF colors, maybe even a couple of different schemes like, Southeast Asia, European I, Air Superiority Gray, etc. Maybe even USCG orange/white!
  2. Ziga

Ziga Member

I know this is not the right reply, but for those who want the "Baby C-130" here is the link:

Best regards,
  3. Ashrunner

Ashrunner Member

PDO files are primarily used by Pepakura which is an unfolding software. The only way you will be able to use repaint the file is to get it to a format which Paint Shop Pro or any other graphics program can handle. Pepakura Viewer doesn't allow exporting the files, unfortunately.

As for C-130s, I hope you have seen NOBI's Herc. If not, it's at and is a very nice model.

It would be fairly easy to convert to a format you can repaint.
  4. modelincard

modelincard Member

I don't know, but PePuKaRa does offer a payware editor/designer of PDO models. That may allow you to repaint it.
    I hope this helps.
  5. Bowdenja

Bowdenja Active Member

You can always scan it.......load it into a paint program and do the recolor. Worked for me. I love that chubby little C-130 model! :grin:
  6. Ashrunner

Ashrunner Member