Working Paper Model Steam Engine !

Discussion in 'Internet Finds' started by andyslogos, Jan 31, 2008.

1. andyslogos

andyslogos Member

Hi All

I've just started to build a 'fully working' (alledgedly !) complete paper model of an old 1870's vertical steam engine made by Ed Bertschy.

The finished model can be motorized or even work of compressed air (with some modifications) hmmm.. now there's a challenge :mrgreen: I'm going to give the 'air' route a go, I don't suppose for a second that I will get it to work even If I finish building the model that is but I'll try.

The model is built in 9 seperate sections and I have made a small website for it. I have just 'published' the first section's WIP photo's so pop over and have a look if you are Interested :)

I will post here after each section is uploaded so you don't have to keep going back to look for updates. I will reply to any comments etc when I post back.

Please bare in mind I am NO expert paper model builder ! I hope you like the site though :)

Ed Bertschy's Amazing Paper Model Steam Engine

Best regards

2. redhorse

redhorse Member

Hi Andy,

Thanks for posting this and setting up the website. It looks really interesting, so I had to download the parts of course. I'm looking forward to seeing how it all comes out. The compressed air part is beyond me!
  3. andyslogos

andyslogos Member

Hi Jim

Thanks for replying, If you hadn't I wouldn't have bothered to post again.

You and me both I think.....:confused:

The more I do the more I think I have as much hope of getting this to run on It's own by air as I have of being a sole winner of a £200,000000 euro lottery !

I'm still 'going for it' though.

Anyway sorry to ramble, Section2 is completed and uploaded.

4. Lepercan

Lepercan Member

Steam Engine

If you are going to make it move, I suggest coating all parts with CA before assembling. Gives more rigidity.
  5. greenelf1967

greenelf1967 Member