wire size

joeg0109

May 14, 2007
Spring, Texas
hi all i am new to the hobby so bare with me. im wanting to know what gauge wire to use, and if it matters the braided kind or solid wire. i will also be using two hollow core doors for my layout. ill be using the pink or blue foam over them. need input on the best way run the wireing.

thanks
joe

Gary S.

Oct 13, 2005
Texas
For the area you have, #14 bus wire underneath and #22 feeders to several locations around the layout should be fine. Now, me, I prefer to not solder the rail joiners and put a feeder to every piece of track (I am assuming you are using flextrack).

As for attaching the wires under the layout... how do you plan on supporting the doors? Legs? Shelf brackets?

joeg0109

May 14, 2007
Spring, Texas
thanks for the quick reply. yes flextrack will be used and legs will be used. i have been toying with useing a tiolet flang and pvc for the legs. i saw at a bar for a table once. the layout will be suspended in my garage thats the only place i have to be able to move it so hoisting it up in the garage is th only way for me.

Gary S.

Oct 13, 2005
Texas
Before you lock yourself in, let's examine more possibilities. Is there any possibility of a "shelf" type layout against the walls? Put it up fairly high, say, 50" or even higher, and use the space underneath just like you are using it now. With a shelf, there is no need for legs, and you may get a much longer mainline run. The shelves don't have to be much wider than 12 inches, and could go as big as 24" deep.

Now, one thing to consider is your wants in running trains. Are you content to sit back and watch them go in circles with continuous running, or do you want more prototypical operations with picking up and setting out cars at industries? A complete loop is not an absolute must. "Point-to-point" operations can be just as satisfying, if not more than, a continuous loop.

Gary S.

Oct 13, 2005
Texas