Wing Trailing Edges?

Discussion in 'Aircraft & Aviation' started by wyverns4, Apr 10, 2006.

1. wyverns4

wyverns4 Member

I'm rather new to card-model aircraft and have a question about the wings, elevators and rudder. How do you get a nice, even, straight edge on the trailing edges of these parts? I'm afraid any sort of clamping scheme will leave an unwanted "step" at the TE, and trying to hold and glue "in the air", by hand, will result in a warped surface!

Working on a Halinski P-40E and really enjoying it! Quite a change from the plastic kits I'm used to!

2. Bowdenja

Bowdenja Active Member

Well for me........... I run a line of glue down the entire length, next to the edge. I then fold over the wing and press down the entire length on a FLAT smooth surface. If you use a thin line of PVA(elmer's) the paper will adhere very rapidly. Hope this helps.

I also score the edge if it has a fold-in glue tab. I do not score the leading edge as this will not yield a rounded leading edge.
  3. Darwin

Darwin Member