Windfall... How lucky is this??

Agatheron

Nov 8, 2003
Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Visit site
I've not posted for a while... simply being a lurker at the moment as I continue to negotiate for space for a layout :) Well, that, and there's not a great deal the way our house is currently configured.

I've been collecting N-Scale materials, books, track, etc. for a short while now as I am just getting into the hobby. So far I've acquired about five locomotives, some Peco turnouts, a small handful of rolling stock, some basic track, and a low-end power supply. It's enough to set up on my table and get a basic feel for running trains.

Today, however, I got a call from a friend of mine. He runs a storage facility, and on occasion he gets "free stuff" from people emptying out their storage lockers who no longer have use for said items. Today, he called me to tell me that he had some N-scale train stuff that had come into his possession, and that my only requirement was to give it a good home. So I went there... and discovered that this was quite a find... most of all, it was entirely free. He figured better in someone else's hands, rather than a dumpster...

I'm doing a bit of an inventory of this now, so I'm going to list the items. Some of this I know the quality and value of it, others I don't. I wouldn't mind a bit of help in sorting through this to see what is good and what is not so good... the price was right... all I had to do was buy my friend lunch.

So here's the inventory:

Locomotives:
1. A Bachmann 2-8-0 with "Reading" on the tender, and 2019 for the Road Number. No dates are otherwise visible on the loco. There appears to be some slight damage to the pieces that connect the locomotive and tender together. It uses the micro-trains couplers.

2. A Bachmann Prairie 2-6-2 with tender, marked for the New YorK Central, road number 1905... this one is still in the box.​

Rolling Stock: