Why the Heck is it doing THAT?!?!

Discussion in 'FAQs' started by SaphhireX, Dec 14, 2006.

1. SaphhireX

SaphhireX New Member

Help! I'm a newbie and just trying to fix my son's train. I bought him a Life-LikeTrain set (item#8963) over 5 years ago. I moved after that and it ended up in storage for over 4 years. It was stored with the other electric toys in a blue plastic tote. I got it out the other day and put it together for him, but all the engine would do is "twitch"! Every time I would turn the control on either forward or reverse it would 'twitch' and then do nothing!?! I pushed down on the engine and it lit up and wanted to go THEN, but when I let go of it, it just,... you guessed it... TWITCHED and then NOTHING! :curse:

I really want to get this running again for my son so I can get him some more track and may be a car or two for his birthday, but I'm at a loss as I don't know anything about trains! I can fix an XBox, so I'm hopeful that this is fixable too!:D Any suggestions or sites with instructions or pictures would be a great help! Thanks!
  2. shaygetz

shaygetz Active Member

Welcome to The Gauge:wave:

Sounds like your track and loco's wheels need a good cleaning. Get a pen eraser and rub it along the tops of the rails 'til they shine. A Q-tip dipped in alcohol will get your wheels. Any more than that will require opening the loco up.
  3. CCT70

CCT70 Member