Who wood'da thunk

thumsup

:thumb:Hi all, Never thought I would be saying "I"M new at this" at my age. So here it is "I'm new at this train stuff". I'm ready to start the journey. So following is my Givens and Druthers.
I’m thinking this isn’t enough info so be kind. All of the time I have spent here reading and reading and reading you would think it would soak in, not. So here goes.
:confused::confused::confused::confused::confused::confused::confused::confused::confused:
Givens and Druthers

(Railroad Name) Not determined yet
Scale: N
Gauge: Standard

Prototype: Complete fantasy
Era: 1947 to 1958
Region: Home town U.S.A.
Railroad: UP & Santa Fe
Space:
Simply a 3 foot by 8 foot rectangle in “the man cave”
Governing Rolling Stock: Older stuff because the RR is so poor.

Relative Emphasis: (move the V)

|____________V_________________________________|
Track/Operation .................................................. ..Scenic realism
|_________________________V____________________|
Mainline Running .................................................. ........ Switching

Operation Priorities: (rearrange as required)
  1. Local Freight Operations Passenger Train Switching
  2. Maybe a hint of Long freight Train Operations
  3. Engine Terminal Movements a hint would be nice.
  4. Helper District Operations
  5. Passenger Train Switching maybe in the future
  6. Main-Line Passenger Train Operation again maybe in the future
Typical operating Crew: Me
Eye Level (Owner) 60+ In.

Joe:thumb:

nkp174

To give the hint of longer train operation, you can either have an interchange at the edge of the layout, a double track passing through one corner, or have a track that is on the surface in the front of the layout but drops down below the scenery behind...so that longer freights can parade onto the scene and then disappear...and since the entire loop isn't visible, you can't see the entire train at once.