who knows this steam engine pic from 1912

cjfeltner

Jan 3, 2006
hazard, ky.
im new to model trains and i am looking forward to getting started. im wanting get a steam engine that is the same as the one that rolled into my small town (hazard,ky)in 1912. can any tell me what it is?heres a pic

Attachments

• hazardtrain1912.jpg
    hazardtrain1912.jpg
    51.3 KB · Views: 183

shaygetz

May 2, 2003
www.freewebs.com
That looks to be a 4-6-0 "Ten-wheeler"---4 small pilot wheels in the front, 6 large driving wheels in the center and no wheels in the rear, tenders are not counted in the wheel arrangement. There are several close models out there made by IHC, Mantua and others, should have no problem finding it.

LongIslandTom

Apr 8, 2006
Long Island, NY
Wish the photo was bigger, but from what blurry features I can see, the locomotive looks like a Ten-Wheeler.

Ten-Wheelers have a wheel arrangement of 4-6-0. 4 pilot truck wheels, 6 driver wheels, and 0 trailing truck wheels.

A number of manufacturers make Ten-Wheelers in HO... Bachmann has one I think, and a few others.

Hope this helps, pending a better photo. :D

EDITED TO ADD: Oops, Shaygetz beat me to it by less than a minute. :D

cjfeltner

Jan 3, 2006
hazard, ky.
1912tr-2.jpg

jr switch

Oct 11, 2006
northern Indiana
Newtrainer----Your in luck! The others are right, it looks like a 4-6-0. Almost all the railroads used them in the early 1900's according to a lot Iv'e read lately. I just ordered one from Hobbyfrenzy.com. There are three road names to choose from and they look like the one in the photo. Manufactured by Bachmann and cost is $117.00 including shipping. I have had good luck with my Bachmann locos and will comment on how it looks and runs as soon as i get it.-----------John R

doctorwayne

Sep 6, 2005
Canada, eh?