Who DIDN'T make a hustler?

Status
Not open for further replies.
Jon, I studied the photos very carefully and my expert opinion is that it runs by having a motor inside make those little wheels go around.
No need to thank me, I'm just glad to help out...:D :p

I didn't even realize Lionel MADE HO gauge stuff. Shows you how much I know. But, I will say this--being a confirmed "critter" fan and feeling sorry for every homeless and abused little switcher I see in the real world (I want to take them home but the blasted city council won't let me), how could your heart not go out for this little spud? C'mon, fork out the dough and give the little nipper a warm and cozy home with lots of love, or I WILL...
(sniff... Poor little dude... sniff...):(

Tom F

Voice

Its not in that great a shape...someone may bid it higher...but its NOT going to be ME!!!!
Same basic drive as Athearn had at that time....a rubber band down to the worm gear that drives the axles.....

Lionel only made HO stuff for a few years...well relatively a few.....like from the late '50s til maybe the mid '60s. As MPC. they made some HO stuff...most notably the Freedom train set.

Voice

Yeah, Marx did make HO for a while, but it wasn't all that great. They had some neat stuff, though. I've got an old Pacific from the early '60s that has a smoke unit in it!!!
American Flyer made it for a while, too.

Actually, Athearn and Rivarrosi were making the early Lionel HO stuff!!!

Pooh Bah
This is taking my memory back over 40 years (to when it actually worked) but I remember a diagram of a Lionel drive unit where the rubber band went from the motor to a drive shaft lengthwise on the trucks and the drive shaft had worm gears onto the axles.
This is different to Athearn's where the rubber band went all the way down to and around the oversize axles. (Lionel's was closer to the spring belt drives used in some trolley models).
I don't know if this is what was applied to their hustler.

jon-monon