Whistle options??

Discussion in 'G / O / S Scale Model Trains' started by djtommye, Dec 28, 2005.

1. djtommye

djtommye New Member

I'm fairly new to the model railroad community (although I did have some HO scale trains when I was alot younger).

I've just completed a track in my three-year old's room, on a shelf about a foot below his ceiling. My brother got him an O-Scale "Thomas the Tank Engine" kit and he's loving it!

Basically, I have two questions.
    Firstly - it came with a simple Lionel transformer that works great in this situation. No frills, e.g. Reverse, etc. I'm installing a switch where he can just turn on the train and it goes, and I'm putting the transformer up high and out of reach.

I've also acquired some accessories, such as crossing signals and beacons, and was wondering how to power them. Is there a simple transformer (on/off) I can use to do that, instead of replace the train transformer with a more sophisticated model?

Also, I'd like something that can reproduce a steam whistle, and maybe even the locomotive sounds (chug-chug-chug). Any suggestions?

Thank you!
  2. FiveFlat

FiveFlat Member

Your accessories can be powered by that same transformer. (the assy. leads).
    Doesn't the Thomas engine have a whistle? I want to buy my 4 year old son that engine too.
    You might be able to find a tender on ebay that has sounds, but Thomas is a tank engine, so a tender wouldn't look right behind him.
  3. djtommye

djtommye New Member

No - the transform just has two terminals on it, no accy lead.

Okay - so I'm stupid - just what is a "tank engine" (I've always wondered that).
  4. Steamtom1

Steamtom1 Member

You guys want to hear some real whistles. Try this site...

One small hitch. Your locomotive has to be live steam, but that shouldn't be a problem.
  5. djtommye

djtommye New Member

Hmm - well, I'm sorry to say that this is NOT a live steam loco - just an electric train set.
  6. FiveFlat

FiveFlat Member