Which way is forward?

Pooh Bah
Mar 25, 2002
Brampton, Ontario, Canada
Visit site
This was asked on a British forum recently, and I thought someone here might have some thoughts.
When you have a locomotive with both ends the same, e.g. a GG1, RDC or an ABBA set of F units, how do you know which end is the front, to tell it to go forward or backward?
This was asked in the context of bringing a train out of hidden storage.

prodigy2k7

Dec 17, 2006
why does it matter?
Im no expert, but why?
Technically, there is no "backward" only "foward" lol....
When it comes to trains, if u have multiple locos , most of them u should just be able to put them all on the same track, and see which direction they go, take a loco off and reverse it until they all go in the same direction, so all of them are facing the same direction....

I hope i helped, if not, u get to wait awhile before the people that know more than me finally respond lol..

jetrock

Dec 18, 2003
Visit site
The whole idea of a double-ended locomotive is that it can be operated in both directions, in order to avoid having to turn a locomotive. For purposes of control via a powerpack, "forward" is the same as for a single-ended locomotive: the way the locomotive goes when power is applied.

when running DC, at least, you can't reverse a locomotive's direction of motion by turning it around, because the polarity is reveresed when you do so, and thus the direction of the locomotive's travel.

If you really need to know, set some marker flags or something on the "forward" end to differentiate it from the "back" end.

MasonJar

It's not rocket surgery
Oct 31, 2002
Ottawa, Canada
Visit site
David,

I am not sure about your question - I think I don't understand it fully... :confused: