Where To Get The Best

Discussion in 'Aircraft & Aviation' started by Redwulf, Jan 13, 2006.

1. Redwulf

Redwulf Member

I'm new to card modelling but I am having a lot of fun with it so far. My first model is about half way finished a free download of the Fokker DVII from Fiddlersgreen. I want to make a nice Mobil for my two boys rooms. I know Fiddlergreen has a bunch of downloadables of WWI are they the best place to buy from?

What is acceptable practice once you have downloaded and paid for it? For example is it acceptable to scan a printout and use something like Photoshop to change colors of the planes? So I could build a mobile of three DVIIs but different schemes.

I'll get some pics up of my first project soon!
  2. Kaz

Kaz Member

In my experience, Fiddlersgreen are perfect for the beginner, not too hard, but a challenge all the same, and if you email Chip with a request to recolour the models I am sure he will grant you permission, BUT that has to come from him, and not on my say so :) he's always been good to me
  3. 46rob

46rob Member

Chip encourages modelers to recolor his products, and if you submit them back to FG--if they meet his standards, will actually add them to the collection. That's how I got started designing models, epainting a FG Phantom.
  4. Redwulf

Redwulf Member

Will scanning change the scale etc? I am assuming you would merely scan the printout in a high resolution and the scale would all stay the same??
  5. Bowdenja

Bowdenja Active Member

If you downloaded the files you do not have to scan them. They are aready in PDF format and Photoshop will open that. Just remember to save the file under a different name so as to keep the original un-modified.

Chip likes it when people re-color models, like Rob said, if he likes it he will add them to the list. I have done one of Rob's and Chip now has it posted. It's the Alvarez A-4. Really neat to have something like that out there.