Where Do I start?

MSP Tuner

Apr 19, 2004
New York City
Visit site
Hello Everybody:

I'm a newbie to the model train scene has you can tell. I'm trying to figure out where to start. I've thought about the Z scale but those things are to darn tiny. So I've decided to go with N scale but don't know what company to go with. So I'm basically looking for any help possible.

MSP Tuner

Apr 19, 2004
New York City
Visit site
Originally posted by interurben
Hi MSP Tuner,, Welcome to the gauge.

Give the folks some idea of operation you want to achive, also time zone (era) Steam? Diesel? or dare I say it Electric?:eek:

Also your avalible space .
I am sure you will soon have a lot of help:wave:
Thanks for the Welcome:thumb:

I'm thinking of going Diesel. As for a space I live in apartment so nothing to outrageous. Maybe a 4x4 area but I can go a little bigger if needed. I was thinking of going with the Z scale in a 3x3 area.

F

Fred_M

I see you live in the Apple. I bet you there is a ntrack or ttrak club that you could join and build a module for in N for and add it to others at meetings to make a big display layout. How I sometimes wish I lived in an area where I could do that. Check with you Local Hobby Shops or here a link to ntrak site that lists several clubs in NYC http://www.ntrak.org/connections.htm#usa.world Enjoy and welcome to da gauge. FRED

Will_annand

Jan 12, 2004
Huntsville, Ontario
www.muskokacomputes.com
Welcome MSP.

I too live in an apartment. I was able to take an alcove in my living room (11.5' x x6.5') and turn it into a train room. Our living room is 11.5' x 18' total.

My choice was Southern Ontario (where I grew up) 1880-1900 so steam.

For Deisel, the guys at my Railroad Club will say "Athearn, Atlas or Con-Cor".

Hope this helps.

Pooh Bah
Mar 25, 2002
Brampton, Ontario, Canada
Visit site
MSP:
Wat do you mean by company -- is it RR company to model or company that makes the model trains?