What's a good Digital Camera

This topic may have been covered before, but I need to get a good medium priced ($300+/-) digital that I can also use to take close-up photos of my layout and models. Any brand names and models or must haves that such a camera should have to do close work. Not needing professional type quality, just clear photos to share and post to my website. :rolleyes:

bear

Nov 8, 2004
Mason, Ohio
Hi, I'm also new to digital photography...just this year. My camera is a Kodak.
I would suggest a major brand......Kodak, Canon, Fuji etccc. make sure you get OPTICAL ZOOM capability. Digital zoom is ok but not for fine detail.....at least 4 megapixels (for resolution) and plan on buying a digital storage card for the camera.
I prefer to buy at a camera shop for service and advice. There should be some great deals after the holidays.
Good luck!!!!

seanm

Oct 11, 2004
Sunny CA
www.pegnsean.net
A good digital camera is one that takes pisctures that look the way you want them. Most placed habvs a 15day return policy and will take items back for any reason... I would make a good guess, buy one and take it home and take LOTS of pictures! Look at them on your PC and print a few if you have a capable printer. If you dont; like what you see or the camera is too complex, return it.

If you are taking pictures of model railroad stuff... look for good macro abilities. Look for manual adjustments. never pay attention to digital zoom, only optical zoom... get something with standard CompacFlash or Smart Media (non propriatary memory) and uses standard batteries. If you take the camera on a trip and run out of juice, it is sure noce to be able to buy a few extra batteries. For general use, use NiMh batteires witha high 2200mah capacity. Watch out for propritaruy batteries.

My advice is worth exctly what you paid for it.

SeanM

Woodie

Mar 23, 2001
Northern Rivers NSW Australia
A Number of things to look for Bywater.