What size do you recommend?

RaymondO

Greetings all.
I joined today and am a complete beginner, so any advice would be great.
I am planning to build a layout roughly 8feet x 4 feet (2440mm x 1220mm approx} Can I do this in two 4 x 4 sections joined and can I join them so they can be dismantled and stored without too much trouble. At the moment I only have a good selection of Fleischmann track and rolling stock. Any tips on controllers etc?
Manythanks, Raymond :wave:

Woodie

G'day Raymond, and welcome. :) :wave:

I'd personally go with the whole 4 x 8 in one piece. It ain't that big, really.

And especially if you landscape etc, and have some yards in the middle. You will have so many gapped tracks (at the join) that it will be a nightmare to align them all up to prevent derailments (and then hook power across to them as well). Some do "modularise" their layout, but usually only have one or two tracks to align at each join, (and connect power) of huge display layouts.

I'm not a Flysh... Flichs..... Fish... Fliecsh yeah them..... person, so I cannot comment on that bit.

As for controllers? Depends on if you intend to have one mainline or two, and how many locos you want to control at once, I suppose. But something to think of, is whether you want a rotary speed control, (that goes from fast/forward to fast/reverse at either extreme (much better for switching and working in your yards) or a slide speed control with directional switch, or whether you want your controller fixed in one position, or be able to "hand hold" it as you move around your layout etc.

I built a 4x8 in two 4x4 sections years ago for my kids using a 1x4 frame with a plywood and homosote top and was very pleased with my ability to move it and store it. If it may need to be stored, the 4x4 sections are great. Of course today you might well use foam for the top, but that depends upon what you have there.