What have you learned from model railroading?

kf4jqd

As all hobbies, you should have learned something. Most of you know I am also a Amateur (Ham) Radio operaor. It is said of being a Ham, you will learn many differant things besides talking on it! Such as, radio physics, which inclueds radio wave proprogration. Electronic theory. Geography, you need to know wherre the state or country is at that you are talking too! Alittle bit of chemistry, which inclueds metalology. Antenna theory is very important. Basic physics is very important. Even how the sun works. The sun is the driving force of atmostpheric conditions. And yes, even the weather. Some of us, inclueding me is a storm chaser.

What about model railroading? You do need to know some basic physics. Such as the laws of motion. for every action, there is an equal and opposit reaction. An example is if your locomotive hits an on coming train. What will happen?

Then there's electricity and basic electronic theory. Don't be scared of either one of them. For the most part you are dealing with low voltages.

Then there is the railroad history. The areas history. Feel free to add some else.

Andy

caellis

I have been in model railroading since 1984 and moved up to DCC over 3 years ago. I also am a HAM since 1961 (K3SBQ). And I have flown R/C airplanes since 1953. I was a computer Software developer for 42 years. I first owned an Altair personal computer in 1978.

I am retired and computers are now a hobby for me. So it isn't that I have learned from MR as much as all my hobbies have something in common.

I learn from each and every one of my hobbies. And each hobby contributes to the other. Such as soldering, electronics/electricity, computers, law of gravity, scratch building, etc.

TexDoc