What got you into Model Rail Roading?

iis612

I used to be an avid R/C Pilot. I had several airplanes.
When I was a kid (maybe 6 years old) my brother and I got a train set for Christmas. We were kids (as though I hadn't mentioned that) and we ran it full throttle all the time, sending the engine flying onto a concrete floor. Needless to say, the engine didn't last more than a few days. Instead of trying to explain that it couldn't go full throttle and replacing the engine, my Dad pitched a fit. He threw out the entire set. I missed that train set.
Fast forward a few years. I was working for CSX, and was sent to training, where they had a bit of a model set up to show a typical switching lead. I remember wanting that, but my wife at the time said no way.
Fast forward a few more years, a new wife, and a young daughter. My daughter is fascinated by trains, and the fever never left me. I also have another child on the way, and I know (without being able to explain how) that he will love trains also.
Now I am able to get into the hobby with my wife's blessing (because I don't have to leave the house to run the trains).
I have sold all my r/c stuff to finance the construction of my HO layout. My daughter even helps me build it.
:)

CCT70

My dad had a bunch of trains before he had kids. He was a Carman (30 some odd years) for Western Pacific, and I grew up as a railroad brat in and around their main yard in Stockton, CA. When I was born (his first) in 1975, apparently, him and my mom's dad got into a debate over who'd buy the first train set for the new baby. While mom went into labor and went to the hospital, Grandpa went to Standard Hobbies and bought a large Bachmann set. It was a figure 8 with blinking bridge, a ATSF "Illustrachrome F9" (which I still have the engine and caboose all these years later in a display case in my office), and about 6 or 7 cars. I recieved that during my 4th Christmas in 1979.

Christmas1979.jpg