What does everyone prefer?

Jun 18, 2004
barboursville, wv
Hello everyone, im curious as to everyones preference on turnouts..... What do you prefer the most and why??? Hand layed turnouts or the readily availiable comercial brands? Im doing sort of a poll before i make my mind up. Thanks for all the input!:wave:

TruckLover

Mack CH613 & 53' Trailer
Apr 14, 2006
Rancho Santa Margarita, Cali.
I use turnouts ready made but I have never done handlaid before.

I think that is might be fun but time consuming so for now,I will stick to the ready-made comercial brands like ATLAS and Mirco-Enineering

metalfrog

Apr 21, 2006
northeast kansas
well i've used and like atlas mark3 t'o's...they work very well for me and the price is right.i do have a few of the code 100 peco and likewise, they work well and after weathering and ballasting them they look good also.terry.....

steamhead

Apr 16, 2005
Brownsville, TX
All Pecos for me...I've handlaid several turnouts before, but with 40+ turnouts already laid, and more to come, it's impractical (for me...). Besides, the Pecos are better than my handlaids ever were...!!!:D

RailRon

Nov 23, 2002
Trimbach, Switzerland
My standard gauge turnouts are all PECO. They are excellent.

On my narrow gauge (H0n3) I tried some Shinohara turnouts, but I'll handlay most of them. BTW: If you plan to run bigger narrow gauge engines (say a D&RGW K-36) forget #4 turnouts! I learned from experience :curse: and settled for #6 turnouts now!

Ron

MasonJar

It's not rocket surgery
Oct 31, 2002
Ottawa, Canada
Visit site
Atlas Code 100 snap switches: I had them on my old 4x8. Servicable, but not overly pretty...

Micro-engineering Code 83 - used on a friend's layout. Look great, and he has them working flawlessly.

Peco - the Code 100 "euro-look" are standard at the local modular club (www.hotrak.ca). They work very well, but may be pricey, and have a slightly foreign look ;)