What do you like to put your layout board on top of?

Dorkmaster Flek

I know a lot of you like to build your own tables, but what about just having the plywood board on top of a table of some kind? Does this work well? I'm just getting started and have little to no carpentry skills. :) I know you get better customization of the shape of your table for your layout if you build your own, but what about something quick and easy for just a beginner 4x8 layout? Thanks!

The reason why most of us like to purpose-build benchwork for a layout rather than use a table is so we can run the wiring underneath it.

You can do that with a table too, but you will have to drill through the table. Not an option if you need the table for other things.

Nomad

Another reason for building your own table. It would be hard to find a table 4'x8'. That means overhang. Someone leans on your railroad and OOPS. There she goes.

Loren

pgandw

Dorkmaster Flek said:
I know a lot of you like to build your own tables, but what about just having the plywood board on top of a table of some kind? Does this work well? I'm just getting started and have little to no carpentry skills. :) I know you get better customization of the shape of your table for your layout if you build your own, but what about something quick and easy for just a beginner 4x8 layout? Thanks!

Unfortunately, a 4x8 piece of plywood by itself is not rigid enough for a model railroad layout. Unsupported, plywood will sag both across and along its length. 1/2" plywood needs a frame of 1x4 underneath it. 2 8ft long 1x4s run vertically under the long edges, a 4ft 1x4s under each end, and 5 1x4s running across between the 8ft pieces at about 16" intervals.