What DCC system would be best for me

LIRR

Dec 19, 2004
I am starting work on a 4x8 with a 2x6 extension (The turtle creek central from MR with its branch) soon. And I want to switch to DCC. Since its a small layout I was considering EZ-DCC but I have heard bad things about it. Really all I will need is being able to run a train on the main loop, switch out some cars at the industrys and run the mine job.

nolatron

Nov 17, 2004
Katy, TX
railroad.sodh.net
I pretty much have the same setup and I went with the Digitrax Super Chief starter set. Might be a little overboard for what I'll be using it for, but I like having the option of upgrading and stuff if I ever nead it in the future. It comes with the DT400 throttle and being able to control two trains at once with it is really cool (since I'll probably only ever have two running at a time).

http://www.fiferhobby.com/cgi-bin/quikstore.cgi?product= SCF

I'm a total newbie to DCC but the digitrax stuff was a snap to setup and program my current two locos with.

moria

Nov 4, 2004
Toronto
Hi :)

LIRR said:
I am starting work on a 4x8 with a 2x6 extension (The turtle creek central from MR with its branch) soon. And I want to switch to DCC. Since its a small layout I was considering EZ-DCC but I have heard bad things about it. Really all I will need is being able to run a train on the main loop, switch out some cars at the industrys and run the mine job.
This is one of those eternal questions which is always hard to answer :)

Bachmann DCC, so I have heard, is good at doing what it is meant to do.. be a simple easy way into DCC and capable of addressing 10 seperate locos on a layout, but it is a very early beginners set, just like the very basic throttle you get in some trainsets.

DCC is an investment, if you are going to do more than just run a basic train, then you may want to look further to something that is expandable in the future.