What can be made to look more realistic?

Discussion in 'N / Z Scale Model Trains' started by jcsftwre, Apr 1, 2006.

1. jcsftwre

jcsftwre New Member

What scale can be made to look more realistic HO-scale, N-scale, or Z-scale? What I am more interested in is more the structures and scenery that the train itself. I have been a woodworker and cabinetmaker for going on 30+ years and have mastered the skills and I am somewhat of an artist to boot. I have just found out about the world of train modeling and I am highly excited in getting started. I would like to start with wood kits until I get use to the scale then do it from scratch. I have seen many wood kits but really, no one shows them in scale to something of known size such as a hand or a pack of cigarettes. Therefore, I cannot tell what size would be easier to make realistic and in more detail. My first goal and interest is realism, I want to do a mill by a stream with a water wheel in mountains and have a train locomotive in the early years of railroads that travels by it. Kind of like my own little peace of mind. Will anyone please enlighten me in these areas?
    Thank you very much for your time and thought.
    Rick B.
  2. shaygetz

shaygetz Active Member

Welcome to The Gauge:wave:

As this is an art as much as it is a hobby, realism is really a matter of perspective. I try to bring my work a step or two up from toy level while folks like doctorwayne and hminky do it on a more precise scale. It really depends on factors like money, time and desire.

A modeler named Ben King did an outstanding model of a mill back in the 90s in MR magazine. The water work was excellent and left you feeling you could just make out a bass lying in wait under his lilly pads. What made his work all the more outstanding was that he was disabled by polio at an early age but came to scratchbuild everthing---even the cameras that he would photograph his work with. >>>http://www.nmra.org/scratch_leone2.html