Water Tower Mockup - Input, Please!

Lighthorseman

I'd like to offer a couple of pictures for your perusal.

Someday, I'd like to scratchbuild a water tower for my little locomotive servicing area. Until then, I'm going to use this mockup, rather than a roughly-cut slab of stryorfoam marked, "water tower". :rolleyes:

This is part of a Lionel water tower kit. As you can see, it suffers from really oversized details, simplified everything, and nothing seems to line up all that well.

That's okay, because it will eventually go up along with the Lionel stuff where those details really don't matter much.

Here's an overall view of the placement of the water tower on the layout

Attachments

• mogul in front.jpg
    mogul in front.jpg
    40.9 KB · Views: 205

Lighthorseman

Now, The Questions!

My questions are with regard to overall relative size ratios and heights. As a newbie, I'm not even too sure if this is acceptable.

---> Are the relative sizes of support beams appropriate for the tank?

---> Is the tank itself correctly sized?

---> How about the height and size of the spout?

---> How about things like wall height and width in relation to the structure?

Attachments

• on the tender.jpg
    on the tender.jpg
    51.7 KB · Views: 202

Lighthorseman

This is just a simple square structure built from matboard, with a Grandt Line door and window. The brick detail was simply drawn on.

I'd really like to build the base of the structure with the Jack Work brick and stone method. Until then...This will have to do.

I sure do appreciate any critical input, as this would allow me to correct any possible mistakes before scratchbuilding the "correct" structure.

Here's the side with the door.

Attachments

• right side.jpg
    right side.jpg
    52.3 KB · Views: 195

Lighthorseman

The water tank hatch on my C-16 is higher than that of the Mogul. Is this okay?

Attachments

• left side and c-16.jpg
    left side and c-16.jpg
    50.5 KB · Views: 190

Lighthorseman