Wanting to know how to wire for 2 trains on same track

Starman

I need to know how to wire for the running of 2 trains on one 4x8 layout.I know you have to use a block in order to due this but how do you wire for it and do you need more than one selector to do this or what do you need.I am wireing this for DC and the track plan that i am useing said that this could be done,but i am not sure where to start.Also do you have to gap the rails or can you just use plastic rail joiners and where should they be placed.I am not very good at soldering so if i don't have to i would rather not.I do have the 2 power pacs that it say's you need but just not sure where to start.Please help with this problem and all suggestions would be great.

Pooh Bah
Easy question first: gapping the rails means an electrical gap; the space between the rail ends is uaually filled with some insulating material. A plastic rail joiner does just fine.
Is this an Atlas layout you're building? It sounds like Atlas electrical components.
A block gnerally had a gap at each end, between it and the next block. Depending on the layout, you may be able to get away with gaps in just one rail (called common rail wiring). I think the Atlas components may do this.
You'll need a switch for each block to select the power pack. (I don't know how many switches there are on a Selector). Number of blocks depends on your layout. I say you need at least one more than the number of trains (this gives the dullest operation: move train to empty block. Move next train to new empty block. ...) but a lot more is handy. If you have a double track line, it is different, and yards generally get their own blocks.
Are you confused yet?

cidchase

Hi Starman,
Can you post your track plan? I'm sure the wiring could be laid out for you if
your requirements are not too complex. :thumb:

MasonJar

It's not rocket surgery
Starman,