vocabulary question

Discussion in 'Aircraft & Aviation' started by lizzienewell, Jun 23, 2007.

1. lizzienewell

lizzienewell Member

Is there a word for the wing of the aircraft or the side of a boat that is on the inside of a turn? If the craft were turning to starboard this would be the starboard wing/side, but I want to write about it without reference to starboard and port.
    I'm working on a fictional story that shows one of my models in action.

Thanks for any ideas.

2. steamhead

steamhead Active Member

I would suspect "inboard" and "outboard"...but then I'm not an aviation expert...!
  3. cgutzmer

cgutzmer Guest

you could use leeward and windward - that indicates the direction the wind is hitting the ship....

Just a thought thought - I will put some more thought into it too :)
  4. cgutzmer

cgutzmer Guest

I cant speak for planes but in ship terms that would refer to being inside or outside the hull :)
  5. lizzienewell

lizzienewell Member

I'd normally refer to it as inside and outside, but that could be confused with distal and proximal(toward the wingtip and toward the fusilage) or with interior and exterior.

If this were a taking sailboat, it would be the lee side. Lee might still work since the air movement against the craft would be on the outside of the turn.
  6. Amazyah

Amazyah Senior Member

I have no expertise in the matter but I think Leeward and Windward have a certain ring to it.

7. paperbeam

paperbeam Member

8. B-Manic

B-Manic Peripheral Visionary

Are you referring to yaw?

Yaw -- The angle between the fuselage of the airplane and the relative wind as seen from above the airplane. Yaw is the term pilots use to describe the turning left or right of the plane. Yaw is the sideways movement of the plane. Normally an airplane is flown without yaw.

Sailing terminology

Leeward -The side of the boat that the boom is on. Also, away from the wind or down-wind