Vinegar Bath?

Discussion in 'FAQs' started by Buster27, Jan 16, 2006.

1. Buster27

Buster27 New Member

Hello all. I'm new here so forgive me if I'm asking a question that's already been answered. I'm just getting started in HO model railroading and have purchased one of my Holy Grail engines, "The General" by Mantua. This kit comes unpainted in pot metal, and I've heard about soaking such kits in a vinegar bath in order to lightly etch for painting. What is the makeup of the bath? Is it straight vinegar, or is it mixed with water? Or perhaps a nice balsamic with olive oil? :) I understand too that I should wash the non-electrical & non-moving parts afterward, but wouldn't this promote rust? Thanks again.
  2. nachoman

nachoman Guest

can't help you with the vinergar bath, but I will mention that pot metal won't rust :) I have painted several pot metal MDC locos. I washed the castings with soapy water, and then used an automotive primer from a spray can. After I painted the final coat, I baked the metal parts in the over at about 200 degrees for an hour or so. An old toaster over works great for this.

3. HPRL

HPRL Member

Buster: I have never heard of soaking a loco (minus the motor) in vinegar. But I could have missed something in all these years of model RR. Maybe someone esle has heard of this restoration process.

Are you sure you are in the right forum? Sounds like a salad dressing you trying to mix up:D . I'm Only Kidding.

Serious, I have never heard of soaking in Vinegar
  4. jim currie

jim currie Active Member

:wave: welcome to the gauge.i use a vinegar bath on most all of the metal i paint it isn't as needed on white metal. brass need it more as it is a smother surface i use white mixed 50/50 with water then a good scrub with hot soapy water. after that don't touch the metal with bare hands as it leaves oils on it.on plastics i just wash with soapy water .
  5. ezdays

ezdays Out AZ way