VERY excited! Found MY train ;)

jjjetta

Jun 17, 2004
I hope I don't get laughed out of town here. Wasn't sure if I should post this in "technical q & a", or here in "HO scale":

In the late 70's/early 80's I had a Tyco HO set called the "Chattanooga Choo Choo". I am now 31 years old, and I have been missing that train set for years. Well, I just got one in the mail via Ebay! It appears to be complete - all cars, track, accessories, even the liquid smoke is there!

I have set it up (very very basic beginner here), and the train runs rough. It "balks" and "hesitates". The lady that sold it said it was NEVER used. It does appear to be in perfect condition, though the track seems not as shiny as I recall mine did when I was little. This engine has a permanently connect coal car. The engine runs, but like I said, not well, and the coal car (also with metal wheels, must be an "engine" too?) "SQUEEKS" really bad as it rolls along.

I understand that Tyco hasn't supported these products in over a decade. Some say that Tyco is crap anyway, but I don't care, this was MY train as a kid, and it is the only one for me as an adult at this point. :)

What can I do to get her running smooth? Maybe she just needs a nice lube-job or tune-up? How do I clean the track to get it shiny? Does anyone know of a hobby shop that will clean and tune a Tyco steamer anymore?

Thanks much for your help/feedback! I can't wait to get it running smoothly.

- Justin

MasonJar

It's not rocket surgery
Oct 31, 2002
Ottawa, Canada
Visit site
Hi Justin,

Welcome to The Gauge! A great place for all kinds of model railroading, even the stuff some consider "toys". My first train set (still have it) is a middle of the road Bachmann set. I have three of the four original cars, and the engine still pulls like heck. Just ignore the "fire in the cab" headlight...! ;)