Venera Protoype

Discussion in 'Space & Aeronautics' started by jparenti, May 29, 2008.

1. jparenti

jparenti Member

I am currently in the middle of two designs, both scratchbuilds. I have zero experience with scratchbuilding, so be gentle. :mrgreen:
    My Huygens model is waiting for now, but I have made a little progress on my Venera build. Very little material is available for reference, so I'm working off of a couple drawings right now:

Attached Files:

2. cdavenport

cdavenport Member

That's really clever work!
  3. BARX2

BARX2 Member

Really nice work and an excellent paper sphere!
  4. Bengt F

Bengt F Active Member

Russian VENERA Spacecraft Model Prototype

Very nice work, jparenti,

For the next version of this prototype model, you could perhaps try silver paper strips for the lower half of the sphere? That might give it a nice realistic touch.
    I have bought a very nice matted silver paper from a craft shop - it is called CANFORD silver paper, and they are sold in 50x70 cm and 70x100 cm sheets here in Sweden. It also works very well with laser printers . . .

Keep up the good designing work!
    Bengt :thumb:
  5. jparenti

jparenti Member

Thanks for the kind words. I am hoping to use silver paper or possibly paint the sphere on the final version. I may have to see if I can get some of that silver paper Bengt. Is it white on the backside or silver on both sides?
    Anyone who has any information about this spacecraft, let me know! I have some pictures that I managed to wrange out of the Russian language Google, but sources are few and far between. For instance, I don't know what scale I'm working in. The sphere is actually from Leo's Vostok model. I didn't want to reinvent the wheel, and Leo's sphere is the best around, so I reappropriated it. :)
  6. Bengt F

Bengt F Active Member

Canford Silver Paper

Hi jparenti,

The Canford paper has only one colored side. I think the thickness/weight is around 175 g/m2. Pretty ideal to roll and shape.