Using Rubber as covering

Floyd

Sep 20, 2007
Southeastern Colorado
Hello All:wave:....I just joined and am enjoying reading the different posts submitted. Glad to be online with persons who are willing to go over and beyond what would be expected to be helpful.

I am a novice HO grandpa and am trying to setup some type of bilevel track layout for my grandson (and Me). My immediate question is..I have quite a lot of rubberized 1/8 inch thick material which are leftovers from a roofing job that my son just completed. He has some type of "instant" adhesion glue that he used to apply it onto the plywood roof sheeting on a shed roof. Does anyone have any experience using similiar material as a plywood subbase on their layout? Is the use of this material feasable in your opinion or am I heading in a bad direction? Guess it could just be used under the trackbed but I have enough to cover the entire 4X8 sheet of plywood??
Thanks for any help

MasonJar

It's not rocket surgery
Oct 31, 2002
Ottawa, Canada
Visit site
Hi Floyd,

Welcome to The Gauge/Zealot! Glad you could join us.

To get right to your question... I would ask in return - what benefit are you looking for in covering the entire plywood deck with the rubberized material? I am not sure there are any, but I can think of a couple of possible uses:

If you can get other things to stick to it, it might be useful as roadbed (i.e. under the track), as you note. But there'd have to be some way to secure the track. You can nail it, as long as nails can penetrate and hold in the rubber. Many people glue their track instead, so gyou'd have to find some sort of glue that sticks to it.

It might also be good for modelling paved roads. Just the other day, a fellow from our local modular club told us about making roads from spray-on asphalt roof repair tar.

A picture of the material might help generate other suggestions or advice. Good luck with the project!

Andrew

Floyd

Sep 20, 2007
Southeastern Colorado