Updates on O guage

Discussion in 'G / O / S Scale Model Trains' started by green_elite_cab, Nov 24, 2006.

1. green_elite_cab

green_elite_cab Keep It Moving!

Hello! i've been an HO modeler for a while, but i started off 11 years ago with a Lionel trainset when i was 6.

Lately i've been thinking about getting a new transformer, locomotive, and track, because i suspect they all have equal parts to do with the set's now poor performance ( although i can attribute most of it to me)

In addition, my uncle is searching for a set for my cousin, and I'm the one and only train buff there, lol. However, the most i've done recently in O was to get some new rolling stock, and a pair of turnouts. i also have some older O-27 stuff that i'm not sure if they work anymore, as i never tried them. Alot of my stuff is in a sorry state, as i only began to maintain them with the lionel kits and my own work around 2003, when i began HO modeling. It still runs, but its very unreliable, especially when my family comes over, andit just fails to run under the tree.

Anyway, i'm worried about O guage. It seems like all the major manufactures save Atlas O ( i don't know much about Williams, and i haven't heard much about K-line either) Are having lots and lots of both quality control issues.

I've heard good things about Lionel's Fast track, and i'm looking into the next widest radius from O-27 (somethere that will prevent my diecast 4-4-2 from flying off the track and through the wall).

I'm also interested in a newer, better transformer. I think mine still works, so i'll have to test it sometime, but in the future i want to get something newer. CW80 seems synonomous with problems on this forum, so i already know to avoid that. don't need command control, a regular power source will be fine.