UniTrack Newbie Needs Help

Discussion in 'N / Z Scale Model Trains' started by ejko, Jan 13, 2006.

1. ejko

ejko New Member

I've just received my Kato train set and additional track, and am anxious to get started on my layout. I'm hoping someone can help me with a few questions.

1. I'm building the Tri-R Layout from the Kato site. I only received a single feeder. Will this be sufficient, or will I need to add more? If more, how do I do this since there is only one output on the powerpack?

2. In case I want to slightly modify the layout once I get started, how do you get Kato UniTrack apart once its been assembled?

3. I received a small blue plastic item called a Unijoiner tool. What is this for and how its it used?

Thanks in advance for your help!

2. eightyeightfan1

eightyeightfan1 Now I'm AMP'd

I have no experience with the Uni-Trak, but if its anything like the Bachmann EZ-Trak, you should be able to take it apart. Maybe thats what the tool is for.
    As far as feeders, depending on the size, and I'm guessing that its not to big, feeder straight to the power pack from the track should be fine.
  3. steveNSimes

steveNSimes New Member

OK I'm guesing this is a small layout ( I haven't seen the plan.) One track feeder should be ok, but remember that unitrack switches are power routing, ie power to the way the swith is aligned. If you are planning to run one engine, no problem and two eniges would also be ok as you could park one and throw the switch route and kill the power to it.

The blue tool is to remove unijoiners, but you'll probally never need to use it. I've yet to have a unijoiner go bad. To get the track apart, just rock the pcs. back and forth, not up and down, and it comes apart pretty easily.

Good luck!
  4. coaster

coaster Member