Unfortunate Circumstances

Matthyro

Will always be re-membered
I have many great friends in the USA and don't mean to criticise any US citizens other than those lobbyists in Washington that have nothing better to do than persaude the US government to add more tarrifs to the Canadian softwood producers. This is causing massive layoffs that will affect British Columbia's economy which is already in dire straits. Railroads will also face disaster.
This is totally against the NAFTA agreement between Canada and the USA .
Unfortunately this will cause friction between some Canadians and US visitors. I hate to see anything that works against the good neighbours that have taken years to grow.
I realize that US lumber producers want a level playing field but this is going too far.
My opinion anyway.

RI541

This is a real touchy subject for me as I'm a builder and my father owns a furniture shop.I guess what bothers me is seeing truck loads of our trees going north to your saw mills.That realy wouldn't bother me too much as I dont have nothing against Canada, But the fact that my father has too buy truck loads of this lumber at a time. When I was younger he could just buy a half a truck load from one of the local saw mills.Now the saw mills are gone since the tree havesters get a better price from up north.

I think it should be made as a 50/50 so that everyone fairs equal.
The US industry has gone to pot.Japan,China,Mexico has lower labor costs.So must of the junk we get is from these countries.

We Americans wonder why the country has gone to hell its because we sent all of our work overseas.We think that we deserve to make big wages when we dont.We're slowly destroying our own country.

A few years back the prime minister of Japan told us what our problem was.We're lazy plan and simple.

I'm not realy too proud of our goverment but will defend them.I am proud of our county and our flag.