UK Card - What thicknes and where to get it?

Discussion in 'Tips, Tutorials & Tools' started by afk_matrix, Apr 23, 2008.

1. afk_matrix

afk_matrix New Member

Ok I am a total noob to card modelling but am at the moment doing the 1/200 Hachette Partworks Bismarck in wood. I am wanting to complete a Card Tank I purchased but at the moment its a bit beyond me so have downloaded a free by plane to start with. I have also found a nice 1/200 card model of the Yamato that I really want to do.

Now I have no clue what type of card to get and its all in gsm here in the uk and not a proper thickness in mm. So what I need to know is what card to use for the following:

By plane model - this is A4 sheets that will be stuck on the card and then cut out as they have all the textures on etc.

Tank Model - Again these will have to be cut out and stuck on as they have the textures on

Yamato Model - Now I have seen the French Courbet model done by mike and the card he uses is 1.2mm in thickness but I have no clue what that is in gsm, but I would love some card like this.

Also where is best to purchase this card, online, highstreet shop??

2. Tim Crowe

Tim Crowe Member

I use 160 gsm thickness card for most of my models. If i need anything thicker I either laminate the sheets or use the card from cereal packets.

Cheapest place for me is Office World for card.

It's best if you print the model on card rather than sticking the printer paper to card.

I find the best printer is the one at work. Get in nice and early - People think your keen - Which of course we all are - for making lots of card models!

Good luck
  3. londonbluemisty

londonbluemisty Wayne P

Hi AFK Matrix:wave:
    I use 160gsm for most of my main builds aswell,but for small parts or small dia tubes I use 120gsm.
    For laminating or strengthening I also use Cereal Boxes
    I use Osbourne's on the High Street for all of my Paper and Cardstock:mrgreen:
  4. David H

David H Member